SQUEAL! Republic of Thieves has a release date! OMFG!

republicofthieves

I found out this morning that Scott Lynch will be publishing the third installment of his Gentlemen Bastards  Sequence, Republic of Thieves, this coming October 2013.

Now I don’t get all jazzed up and start throwing out my teenage “OMFG”s for just anything – in fact, I try to avoid the use of ChatSpeak such as “OMFG,””STFU,” “TTYL,” so on and so forth in my everyday life because I firmly believe that it is a) juvenile and b) destroying the English language.

BUT there are times when normal sentences simply cannot express my excitement. In these situations, I OMFG all over everything. This is one of those times when you’re going to see me throwing out all kinds of bad English to describe my emotions.

NOT ONLY is Republic of Thieves publishing in 6 months (or exactly 180 days, but who’s counting?), BUT Scott Lynch himself sent me an e-mail to tell me! *Nerdgasm times a billion*

scottlynchemail

Okay – I’m not delusional – I acknowledge to reality that this may be a form letter that was addressed to me and the other thousands of fans that emailed Mr. Lynch in the search of answers. But still, this is pretty cool.

Suffice it to say that I will be veering from The List to re-read the first two books of the sequence – The Lies of Locke Lamora  and Red Seas Under Red Skies – in anticipation of the release of Republic of Thieves, which I will then read as well. Immediately.

The funny thing is that I never used to read Fantasy at all, with the exception of one author: Patricia A. McKillip. I read The Forgotten Beasts of Eld when I was, oh God I don’t know, 12? And fell in love with the idea of being able to have a bunch of magical animals as your friends. Years later my best friend, let’s call him Cinnamon,* recommended OSC‘s Ender’s Game, which I promptly devoured (and now it’s becoming a full feature film). Ender’s Game is Sci-Fi, not Fantasy, but it’s relevant to the story because it was Cinnamon who then also brought me Lies of Locke Lamora.

Now I went on to read the entire Ender’s Game series, including all add-ons, prequels, sequels, spin-offs, and after-market mid-series additions. That’s a lot of books and short stories. To this day, I still re-read many of them. So if Cinnamon was telling me that I should read this Lies of Locke Lamora book, you better believe I was going to read it. And read it I did, and love it I did.

Back then, we all thought (or maybe it was just me, I don’t know) that Gentlemen Bastards was a trilogy and that Republic of Thieves was going to be the last book in the series. WE WERE WRONG! If you look on Scott Lynch’s website he has SEVEN “coming soon” titles posted there. Be still my beating heart.

Cinnamon is that one friend that everyone should have, whose recommendations are foolproof. He has never failed me, not once.

I, along with many others, have been waiting for Republic of Thieves since 2008. There have been many speculated, announced, and delayed pub dates for this book. I think I’ve been able to pre-order it at Chapters for no less than five years now.

Seriously, you guys. Seriously. Stop what you’re doing right now, and read the first two books.

*names have been changed to protect the identity of the individuals referenced

Leave a Reply

