Back in the saddle

After a very long absence from my blog, I’ve finally returned. The need to write a post and update my legions of followers on my progress on The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring has been growing over the past couple of months. I have had a pretty consistent nagging inner monologue reminding me that I had been neglecting my blog and the book and needed to get on that!

I had the greatest excuse not to write a blog post: “It’s been so long now, the best thing to do at this point is to wait until I’m finished reading LOTR and then write one post about it, and then move on to the next.” Perfect, right? Except I started saying that two and half months ago, and here we are and I am only about 60 pages further into the book, despite carrying it with me literally everywhere I go. My fiance’s brother was reading it as well this past summer – I noticed that we both had it with us as our beach reads. I’m sure he has long since finished, putting my snail’s pace reading to shame.

In my (albeit brittle) defence, the past couple of months have been eventful and busy for me, both with work and personally. It seems that I could benefit from a few more lessons in prioritization and time management. Of course, I could benefit just as much from not being a procrastinator…

So bugger to waiting until I’m done to update my blog! My update is this: I’ve picked up the book again and I’m forging on! Frodo & Co have now made it to Bree-land, have hooked up with Strider, and are about to leave for Rivendell. That is where I am in the book, which is just shy of half-way through. I seem to recall this part of the story being at the very beginning of the movie, which can only mean that I’m about to get into the really good stuff! Speaking of the movie, interesting that they didn’t include the character of Tom Bombadil as he was so critical to the gang making it through the Forest (or was he in the movie and I just don’t remember him?). Strider certainly has added an element of intrigue to the story.

Stay tuned! The next chapter is called “A Knife in the Dark” so that should be good.

Leave a Reply

