Dune: a ride down memory lane in a big yellow bus

When I went to the library to pick up a hard copy of Dune to read whilst my partner used my Kindle to read the e-copy, I actually had to ask the librarian for help finding the book. I am fairly certain that qualifies as the very first time I’ve ever needed help finding anything in a library. It was a very embarrassing moment for me. You see, as a child I used to go to the library ALL THE DAMN TIME. Now I can’t even find my way around my local branch. It’s sad, really.

That reminded me of how much I used to love reading, and how little I do of it now. Even with this blog, which I hoped would revitalize my reading efforts, I’m still not even close to reading as much as I used to. Man – I used to just tear through books. I would take out 3 or 4 at a time, and finish them all within a few weeks. Then my mom would take me back to the library and I would pick up 3 or 4 more and so on and so forth. I read Les Mis before I was thirteen! Pre-teen me would be unimpressed.

In earlier posts on this blog, I’ve bemoaned the fact that I find that I have lost much of my creativity. If I was a betting woman, I would wager that the decrease in creativity I’ve experienced is 100% tied to the equally decreasing amount of reading I do.

Wow…the last two paragraphs were a tangent. Back to the point. I was at the library picking up a copy of Dune

The librarian who was kind enough to help me asked how I had come to know of Dune. It was then that I told her about Patrick.

Patrick was one of the smart kids. He was in my grade, quiet, kept to himself mostly, and sat across from me on the school bus. This is significant as we spent a lot of time on the bus as kids. Patrick and I went to French Catholic school which meant that we spent 45 minutes on the bus, one way, to get to and from school. This was because one school served our whole region (approximately 8 or 9 cities). One of my clearest memories of Patrick is of him sitting in his big grey plastic bus seat, reading Dune. Those books looked massive to me at the time. I was so impressed by him, that he was reading such an intimidatingly large book. But of course he was reading a huge book! He was Patrick, after all. He was super smart. I kept to my Archie comics and pre-teen fantasy novels.

Now, a very long time later (more than one decade, less than two), in reading Dune I am reminded of Patrick. Talk about a ride down memory lane!

Leave a Reply

