Le Petit Prince: What does the fox say?

Littleprince

Antoine de Saint-Exupery tells us the story of a pilot who crashes his plane in the desert and meets a young planet-travelling prince who is on a mission to find a friend and save his flower. In his travels he meets a very wise fox who has something very important to say, something we all need to be reminded of. It sounds like a children’s story because it is a children’s story, that every adult should read.

Scratch that – EVERYONE should read this book. In whatever language you speak, read it. It’s available in 253 languages and I guarantee you that you speak and/or at least understand one of them. If you don’t, then let me know and I will learn your language and then translate it for you. Read it at any age, read it to your children, read it alone, read it out loud, quitely, and often. It is full of so many beautiful values and anecdotes that we all should know.

In less than 100 pages Le Petit Prince reminds you of what is important in life, and what is not (two things we often mix up). I have read 500 page novels with less depth.

My mom used to read me this when I was little, and I read it again while I was in elementary school (I’m pretty sure) but I had completely forgotten the whole story. I am so glad that I didn’t just cross it off as “read.” Reading it again has led me to one absolute truth in my life: my children will be read this book. They will know this story.

READ IT! This book took me all of 2 hours to read, and I read slow. You have no excuse.

(SPOILER) This is what the fox says:

“Voici mon secret. Il est tres simple: on ne voit bien qu’avec le coeur. L’essentiel est invivisble pour les yeux.”

le-renard-aquarelle-stickers-le-petit-prince-chambre-enfant

Leave a Reply

