sounds about right…

me: these books are soooooo looooong *explaining why it takes me nine months to read six books on the list*

me: these books aren’t that long… *takes me two weeks to read entire Mortal Instruments series*

For those of you who are not ‘in-the-know,’ The Mortal Instruments is a young adult fiction series. It covers the love triangle saga of one girl, a boy she thinks is her brother, and another boy who is her brother. Each book is between 600 400 and 1,000 pages long. I’m approximating – suffice it to say they are THICK.

Now, as we know, size does not always mean quality; bigger does not necessarily mean better. In the case of The Mortal Instruments, these books are 60% incest, 10% sexy times, 20% sexual tension, 5% daddy issues and 5% killing demons.

Considering this distribution, what often struck me while reading these books was the maturity level of the subject matter being discussed held in contrast to the level of the writing being used. The writing often struck me as very juvenile, and okay, yes, I was reading young adult, what do you expect, right? But the subject matter was so mature in many ways, heavy, sometimes controversial (the themes of incest and being sexuality active at a young age come to mind) and would raise a lot of questions in young readers. If you’re going to give your audience enough credit to handle mature themes, you should also give them enough credit to write for them at a level commensurate to those themes. 

In th end, much like the YA series I have loved before (Twilight, Hunger Games, Divergent, etc), these are not masterpieces, nor do they try to be. But oh man, was it ever fun to just inhale a book again!

eating-books1

moi (note: I googled “inhaling a book” too, but those images turned out to be…darker…)

2 thoughts on “sounds about right…

  1. I know what you mean! I started reading “If On A Winter’s Night A Traveller” by Italo Calvino. Yikes! That’s a slog! I read about 3 chapters in two days, struggling with every page. So I put it aside and got two books by Janet Evanovich (the Stephanie Plum novels) out of the library. I read each in a day. Sometimes you just need a break.

Leave a Reply

