fait accompli!

dddsd501696

cover depicting The Speckled Band

I didn’t quite make my goal of finishing The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes yesterday; I blame it on the ah-ah-ah-alcohol and the video games. My empires weren’t going to simply settle and expand themselves! And beer is such a deliciously effective distraction.

This morning, then, was my chance, and I had just the one adventure left to read: Copper Beeches. It took me no time at all to finish it. What a fun book to read!

One observation I wanted to share was that I couldn’t help but notice that at the crux of many of the Adventures was a marriage. Most stories seemed to revolve around some patriarch wanting to stop his daughter’s marriage from occurring. The lesson learned is that young women today are much safer by the fact that we are no longer in the custom of receiving annual incomes (allowances?) upon marriage. Nobody is trying to kill us or stop us from getting married so they can keep taking our money, which is nice.

With The Adventures complete, I think I will go on and read The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes as well, and maybe even go so far as read through the complete works. It’s really fascinating stuff.

My favourite adventure was The Red-Headed League. Honourable mentions to The Noble Bachelor and The Man with the Twisted Lip.

Leave a Reply

