Anna Karenina: HIMYM and Early Predictions

As soon as I saw the name Scherbatsky in Anna Karenina I thought to myself “Could it be?” which was almost instantly followed up by a quick Google search, which told me that yes, it could be and yes, it was so. Robin Scherbatsky was indeed named after Kitty Scherbatsky.

I wasn’t the first person to discover this, but it feels good to be right.

Robin-how-i-met-your-mother-31111428-1024-768

On another note, Anna has just pulled in to the train station in the book, and Vronsky is so instantly infatuated with her he has all but walked in to a wall.

Full disclosure: when the story took a dark turn and it was announced that someone had been run over by the train, I thought it was Levin FOR SURE. Having been so completely shattered by Kitty’s refusal, I thought he had thrown himself in front of the train. It wasn’t him, though. Apparently Tolstoy is not that dramatic.

To those of you who are paying attention and who have read the book before, this is a clear indication that I have not made a ton of progress in AK yet. Kindle says I’m 7% done.

I was sucked in to a black hole of YA Fiction for a little while there. After reading Black City and PheonixI read The Testing series (it was okay) and The Murder Complex (it was less okay). I almost started reading the sequel to the latter, The Death Code, and then half-way through the first page I thought to myself “Catherine, you are better than this.” I put it down and picked up AK again, and here we are.

PREDICTIONS:

Anna and Vronsky

Obviously Anna and Vronsky are going to fall in love and run away together, breaking poor Kitty’s little adolescent heart [serves her right!]. The part of me that enjoys seeing egotistical men taken down a peg or two hopes that Anna rejects him in some kind of cruel way. But this probably won’t happen.

This would leave the loose end of Anna’s husband and son…so let’s take a wild guess here and say that they go back for her son.

Oblonsky

Oblonsky and his wife divorce and he goes off with his mistress. They have to sell the house due to Oblonsky’s crippling debt.

Dolly and Levin

Dolly and Levin end up together, finding comfort in each other’s broken hearts. Dolly and the kids move out to the country with Levin, and having access to so much free labour, Levin becomes wildly productive and successful.

Kitty

And Kitty ends up alone. Or with Oblonsky’s friend with the weird nails. That’ll teach her for breaking a sweet man’s heart.

Now off to find out how far off base I am with these!

12 thoughts on “Anna Karenina: HIMYM and Early Predictions

  1. Pingback: Jeremy Bentham was on to something, but Gaia takes it too far: considering individuality vs.superorganisms in “Foundation and Earth” (also spoilers) | catherine reads

    • Hahahaha I knoooowww! But you gotta admit, my predictions are pretty great – some even better than the book, you might say (I wouldn’t say that but you might say that) lol

      • No (didn’t read Android Karenina), but I think it’s interesting, altough I read some comments saying it’s a too long joke – the book has ~600 pages. I read some pages of the satire of Jane Austen’s Pride And Preudice with Zombies.

        Now I’m reading Duna (Frank Herbert, Dune), Crime e Castigo (Dostoievsky, Crime and Punishment), O Triste Fim de Policarpo Quaresma (Lima Barreto, The Tragic Fate of Policarpo Quaresma), O Fim do Homem Soviético (Svetlana Alexievich, Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets), Sistema Nacional de Economia Política (Friedrich List, The National System of Political Economy), and some others…

  2. Where did you find information about the relation between the surname of Kitty and How I Met Your Mother’s Robin? I also thought that – and that’s how I met yout blog.

  3. My real email, in case you respond, so I can come back.
    Bye.

    (without the last m, because it’s asking for loggin and I don’t know)

    • 🙂 thanks, Levin! I’m always curious about how people (other than my family) come to find my blog.

      To answer your question, I recall spending quite a bit of time googling around when I first made the connection between HIMYM and AK. I remember finding it mentioned on a number of sites, everything from news and media outlets to personal blogs and wiki pages. The New York Post specifically quotes one co-creators of the show saying she’s named after Kitty. Of course the quote is not cited…

      I wish I had made note of the places I found it mentioned bc as I google again I find that they are not as easy to find as my memory suggests…sorry, Levin. Love the name, though!

      • Well, that’s not my real name, I just wrote as a related name to the subject, my name is a little harder than that… I found your blog because when I started reading and after some appearances (?) of Kitty I remembered of Robin. Took me some time because in my Portuguese translation is written a little different: Cherbátski and Cherbátskaia. Then I searched some key words and found your blog, but didn’t read until I finished the book months later (now) to avoid spoilers. But that was not enough, after that I saw one episode of Gilmore Girls in which the protagonist’s boyfriend reads Anna Karenina and says “she threw herself under the train”.
        I tried to forget that but I didn’t. And to “help” I saw the 2012 movie trailer, in which there’s a very insinuating scene of her in front of a train. At least I read the preface after finishing the book… In the begining it says that Tolstoy had a neighbour that had an affair with a woman caled Anna and she threw herself under a train and let a note saying he killed her.
        So, besides the spoilers and the very long time to read, I found it amazing, Tolstoy’s writing is delightful. The phrase about the sunrise after Liévin harvesting with the mujiques (muzhik/peasant), just before he saw Kitty again, is beautiful and striking (“Sobreveio o minuto nublado que costuma preceder o raiar do dia, a vitória completa da luz sobre a treva.” – Part 3, Chapter XII).
        Now I want to watch the italian miniseries Anna Karenina (2013). Looks very well made, for the youtube trailer.

      • I had no idea that Tolstoy drew from real life for inspiration for Anna’s character – she is so tragic, sad to think that that she was real in any way.

        I agree that there are quite a few moving a deeply reflective scenes that come through from Levin’s experience in the country. Ah pastoral philosophy, there’s nothing quite like it, is there?

        I didn’t realize there was a mini-series, I’ve only seen the movie adaptation with Kiera Knightley. Interesting staging decisions on that one.

      • No (didn’t read Android Karenina), but I think it’s interesting, altough I read some comments saying it’s a too long joke – the book has ~600 pages. I read some pages of the satire of Jane Austen’s Pride And Preudice with Zombies.

        Now I’m reading Duna (Frank Herbert, Dune), Crime e Castigo (Dostoievsky, Crime and Punishment), O Triste Fim de Policarpo Quaresma (Lima Barreto, The Tragic Fate of Policarpo Quaresma), O Fim do Homem Soviético (Svetlana Alexievich, Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets), Sistema Nacional de Economia Política (Friedrich List, The National System of Political Economy), and some others…

Leave a Reply

