An exercise in self-control: trying not to buy a new book until I’ve read the books I’ve already bought

Before you all start making bets about how long I will last, you should all know that I’ve already made it 80 days since I last bought a book.

That’s right, 80 days. Are you impressed? You should be, because this is me in a bookstore:

For the record, I see nothing wrong with the above. Sarah Andersen perfectly captures my financial priorities in this comic.

So, I’m committed to reading the books I’ve accumulated and have not yet read. Because, well, I should, shouldn’t I?

[Aside] Okay, I’ll level with you. Honestly, I’m just trying to justify my next trip to the bookstore.

So – excluding gifts, List reads (because the bowl decides which ones of those I read and when), my husband’s university texts, decorative books (read: beautifully bound hardcover books found in antique stores eg. Source Records of the Great War Vol. I, III, V, and VI) and books of unknown origins – I am left with a reasonably healthy stack of books to read before I can responsibly purchase more.

Of the 14 15 books standing between my next acquisition and me, I have 8 9 left to read:

  1. Armada by Ernest Cline: which I am currently reading and was purchased “for my husband” *I swear*
  2. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare: purchased as part of my “in case of emergency, bend spine” reservoir when I was trying to reach my 2015 Goodreads target
  3. What I Told My Daughter by Nina Tassler
  4. Ru by Kim Thuy
  5. Interview with a Vampire: purchase inspired by my love of the movie. I tried reading it last year, let’s see if I make it through this time.
  6. Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond
  7. She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb
  8. Cursor’s Fury by Jim Butcher: purchased because I’m already invested in the series. Can’t stop now!
  9. Updated 2016.07.16 Lamb: the Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore: missed one. Purchased on a whim on the recommendation of a Chapters Customer Experience Representative (which is they call their floor staff). It didn’t take the first time I picked it up, will have to try harder this time.

dsc_0032.jpg

Titles from my ‘healthy stack’ which I’ve read since deciding on this crazy resolution are:

  • The Inconvenient Indian by Thomas King: everyone needs to read this.
  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins: yes, I caved. FOMO works! I found it predictable, though.
  • The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo: so well written, twisted in such unexpected ways. The American movie adaptation was disappointing, but I heard the Swedish one is better.
  • Our Turn by Kirsten Stewart: adding to my collection of kick ass non-fiction females, alongside Arlene Dickinson, Sheryl Sandberg, Judith Butler, Constance & Nancy Backhouse, Liz Lemon Tina Fey, Mindy Kaling, Amy Poehler, Ellen, Gloria Steinem, and (most recently) Nina Tassler.
  • Updated 2106.07.16 The Colour Of Magic by Terry Pratchett: almost forgot this one. Purchased on a whim a few years ago on the recommendation of the same  Chapters CER. This was my first Terry Pratchett book – that man has one wild imagination.

What is making this all the more difficult? I’ve moved to a new city recently and have yet to visit the local bookstores. I KNOW! WHY AM I DOING THIS TO MYSELF?

Thank you, Internet, for providing me with the motivational boost I needed in the form of an adorable tiny potato who believes in me.

 

Thank you for believing in me, Tiny Potato.

P.S. Books on loan from nice people and from the library are exempt, because I’m a realist, not a monster.

Credit: How I Spend My Money comic by Sarah Andersen: http://sarahcandersen.com/page/61 
Credit: I am a Tiny Potato image from joyreactor.com: http://joyreactor.com/post/1352303
Leave a Reply

